Book Reviews by Someone not Qualified to Review Books- Indiana Jones and the Peril at Delphi

Indiana Jones and the Peril at Delphi (Indiana Jones: Prequels #1)Indiana Jones and the Peril at Delphi by Rob MacGregor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have been a long standing fan of Indiana Jones, so I decided to start the book series. My expectations were not very high, since books based on movie franchises are never usually that good, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this book.

Peril at Delphi introduces us to a post-“Young Indiana Jones Chronicles” but pre-movie Indy. I was skeptical about whether the author would get the character right, but I think he definitely did. Indy is just starting out in the world of extreme archaeology, so he lacks a bit of the charm we see in the movies and he still seems to be finding his feet. I really liked this, since this is a prequel after all. Indy himself was well written, and everything he said and thought still felt in-line with the character.

Sadly, none of the other characters were as well thought out as Indy. None of them really stuck with me except Dorian. While I liked her character, her motivations and personality seemed all over the place. That being said, I was not expecting such an interesting female character from a book this old, and I much preferred a somewhat flawed female character in this compared to a Mary-Sue or trophy woman character that are so common in older novels.

The writing itself is nothing spectacular, but it is clear and direct which I think works well in such an action orientated book. The action scenes sometimes lacked a bit, but it didn’t ruin the book.

All in all, it does feel like an Indiana Jones adventure and I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. However, I do feel that this book may not appeal to everyone- only Indiana Jones fans and history buffs will likely appreciate the history/mythology based story, since asides from that it doesn’t bring much new to the table. But if you are an Indy fan, or enjoy a good pulpy archaeology adventure, this this is a definite read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

