Knights of the Cool Republic

Not that boring New Republic (or is the post Episode 6 Republic the New Republic?  Does that make the pre-Episode 3 Republic the Old New Republic or the New Old Republic…)

Nevermind, I’m getting off topic.  The Republic I am in fact talking about is the one from the Knights of the Old Republic video game series, aka the best Star Wars games ever and the games that have influenced my big Star Wars writing project.

So, a bit of background.  I received KOTOR 1 and 2 as a gift on Steam from my (now ex) boyfriend.  At the time, I had heard of the games but had never seen anything about them. So I started playing the first game, and made my awesome main character Tiannah Ren (Yes, Force Awakens had just come out and I was in the prime of my Kylo Ren obsession)

2016-01-14_00005

And as you can probably tell from that picture, I made her hella evil.  Like, I mean really evil.  More evil than you could imagine, cause to be honest, playing evil Sith in Star Wars games is super fun.  UNLIMITED POWAAAH.

But when I hit that game-changing plot twist, I thought “wow, this whole Old Republic era is a trove of storytelling potential”

And so I played the second game, and was even more immersed in the Old Republic.  Then I got into the comic series, and that really drove home how fleshed out this era of Star Wars history was, but at the same time showed how much more potential it had.  And Revan, the most adored character from the Old Republic, fascinated me.  A fallen Jedi who came back to the light, but never fully trusting it.  Someone who had been both Jedi and Sith, who had served both light and dark.  Now THAT was a character I could get into.  So I read the “Revan” novel.

And it sucked.

Look, it was not a terrible book by all means, but what Lucasarts as a whole had done with the character really annoyed me, especially his introduction into the Old Republic MMO.  They took a character who was different in everyone’s mind, depending how they played KOTOR, and made him a white, male, brown haired, stubbled jaw bore-fest.  I understand they needed to make a canon (well, not anymore) Revan to neaten up the EU, but really? ANOTHER white, male, brown haired, stubbled jaw hero?  Was Kyle Katarn not enough for you!

That’s where I come in.

What do I want to do?  I want to take Revan, and remake the character.  I want to make Revan into a great, multifaceted female Sith.  I want to see her interact with the galaxy and its people in different ways, depending on her current allegiance (either Sith or Jedi).  And I’m going to at least try to do that via short stories.

My Revan stories are going to (or at least try to) take everything everyone knows and loves about the character and the Old Republic universe, and string it together with some new ideas.  I want to explore Revan during the Mandalorian Wars, and her slow decent to the dark side.  I want to view the galaxy from her point of view as a Lord of the Sith.  And of course, I want to see Revan’s identify be destroyed by the Jedi before being found again in the light.

I’m not an incredible writer by a long shot.  There’s still a lot I have to learn.  But somehow, I feel that taking this character I love so much and making her into something my own will help me.  And I hope you will all enjoy it too.

Lisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

